FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL DISCUSSION OF AGENDA ITEMS MEETING MINUTES ST. AVOLD ROOM JANUARY 8, 2017 6:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1) (arrived at 6:20 p.m.); Tyrone Williams (District 2); Tisha S. Waddell (District 3); D. J. Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5); William J. L. Crisp (District 6); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7); Theodore W. Mohn (District 8); James W. Arp, Jr. (District 9)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager Kristoff Bauer, Deputy City Manager Karen McDonald, City Attorney Telly Whitfield, Assistant City Manager Jay Reinstein, Assistant City Manager Tracey Broyles, Budget and Evaluation Director Gina Hawkins, Police Chief Victor Sharpe, Economic and Community Development Director Kevin Arata, Corporate Communications Director Pamela Megill, City Clerk Members of the Press

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Council Member Wright offered the invocation and blessed the food provided for the meeting.

Mayor Colvin stated the City Council meetings will be run as cited in the Code of Ordinances, Chapter 2, Administration, Section 2-4, Parliamentary Procedure, along with common sense discretion.

Council Member Arp praised the efforts of the PWC staff for their diligent hard work to repair the broken water lines and restore pressure and water to its customers.

Mayor Colvin stated he had been approached by the respective Chairs of the Cumberland County Commissioners and the Cumberland County School Board to arrange a joint meeting of the three entities, more information will be forthcoming.

Discussion ensued pertaining to the recent freezing temperatures and the White Flag program for sheltering the homeless.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:29 p.m.