FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES J.W. SEABROOK AUDITORIUM FAYETTEVILLE STATE UNIVERSITY 1200 MURCHISON ROAD DECEMBER 4, 2017 6:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitchell Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Tyrone Williams (District 2); Tisha S. Waddell (District 3); D. J. Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5); William J. L. Crisp (District 6); Larry Wright, Sr. (District 7); Theodore W. Mohn (District 8); Jim Arp (District 9)

Others Present: Dou

Douglas Hewett, City Manager Karen McDonald, City Attorney

Kristoff Bauer, Deputy City Manager Jay Reinstein, Assistant City Manager Telly Whitfield, Assistant City Manager

Gina Hawkins, Police Chief

Ben Major, Fire Chief

Dwayne Campbell, Chief Information Officer Gerald Newton, Development Services Director

Michael Gibson, Fayetteville-Cumberland Parks and

Recreation Director

Randy Hume, Transit Director

Victor Sharpe, Community Development Director Tracey Broyles, Budget and Evaluation Director Elizabeth Somerindyke, Internal Audit Director Rebecca Rogers-Carter, Strategic Performance

Analytics Director Pamela Megill, City Clerk

Jennifer Ayre, Senior Administrative Assistant

Members of the Public Members of the Press

1.0 Welcome

Mr. John Malzone, Master of Ceremonies, welcomed those in attendance.

2.0 Posting of the Colors

Police and Fire Departments Honor Guard Team performed the Posting of the Colors followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag. $\,$

3.0 Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was recited by those in attendance.

4.0 National Anthem

Air Force Staff Sergeant Desiree Scarver sang the National Anthem.

5.0 Invocation

The invocation was offered by Dr. Carl E. Brinkley, Jr., Mount Olive Missionary Baptist Church.

6.0 Administration of Oaths of Office

Mr. Mitch Colvin was sworn in by The Honorable Michael Morgan, Associate Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court.

Ms. Kathy Jensen, District 1, was sworn in by The Honorable Claire Hill, Superior Court Judge.

Mr. Tyrone Williams, District 2, was sworn in by The Honorable Toni S. King, Superior Court Judge.

Ms. Tisha S. Waddell, District 3, was sworn in by The Honorable Gale Adams, Superior Court Judge.

Mr. D. J. Haire, District 4, was sworn in by Mrs. Sandra Jones Morrisey, North Carolina Notary Public.

Mr. Johnny Dawkins, District 5, was sworn in by The Honorable Stephen Stokes, District Court Judge.

Mr. William Joseph Leon Crisp, District 6, was sworn in by The Honorable Talmage S. Baggett, Jr., District Court Judge.

Mr. Larry Wright, Sr., District 7, was sworn in by The Honorable Stephen Stokes, District Court Judge.

 $\mbox{Mr.}$ Theodore W. Mohn, District 8, was sworn in by Mayor Mitch Colvin.

Mr. James William Arp, Jr., District 9, was sworn in by The Honorable James Floyd Ammons, Jr., Senior Resident Superior Court Judge.

7.0 Call to Order

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order and thanked all present for their attendance.

8.0 Election of Mayor Pro Tem

Mayor Colvin called for nominations for the position of Mayor Pro Tempore.

MOTION: Council Member Crisp moved to nominate Council Member Mohn

for the position of Mayor Pro Tempore.

SECOND: Council Member Haire
VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

9.0 Opening Address

Mayor Colvin provided the opening address.

10.0 Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at $7:36~\mathrm{p.m.}$

11.0 Retire the Colors

The Fayetteville Police and Fire Departments Honor Guard Team retired the colors.

120417