FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL DISCUSSION OF AGENDA ITEMS MEETING MINUTES ST. AVOLD ROOM NOVEMBER 13, 2017

6:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Nat Robertson

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Kirk deViere (District 2); H. Mitchell Colvin, Jr. (District 3); Chalmers L. McDougald (District 4); Robert T. Hurst, Jr. (District 5); William J. L. Crisp (District 6); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7); Theodore W. Mohn (District 8); James W. Arp, Jr. (District 9)

Douglas Hewett, City Manager Others Present:

Karen McDonald, City Attorney

Kristoff Bauer, Deputy City Manager Telly Whitfield, Assistant City Manager Jay Reinstein, Assistant City Manager

Rob Stone, Engineering and Infrastructure Director Tracey Broyles, Budget and Evaluation Director Kevin Arata, Corporate Communications Director

Gina Hawkins, Police Chief

Kecia Parker, Real Estate Manager Michael Parker, Police Attorney Brandon Christian, Police Attorney

Gerald Newton, Development Services Director

Pamela Megill, City Clerk Members of the Press

Mayor Robertson called the meeting to order at 6:05 p.m.

Council Member McDougald offered an invocation and blessed the food provided for the meeting.

Council Member Jensen stated she would like to pull Item 6.05, Budget Ordinance Amendment (Stormwater Management Fund).

Ms. Karen McDonald, City Attorney, requested Council move into a closed session for attorney-client privileged matters relating to (1) personnel matter and (2) economic development.

MOTION: Council Member Hurst moved to go into closed session for an

attorney-client privileged matter relating to a personnel matter and an attorney-client privileged matter relating to

economic development and contracting negotiations.

Council Member Arp SECOND: VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

The regular session recessed at 6:06 p.m. The regular session reconvened at 7:03 p.m.

MOTION: Council Member Mohn moved to go into open session.

SECOND: Council Member Arp UNANIMOUS (10-0) VOTE:

A brief discussion ensued pertaining to Solid Waste operations.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:07 p.m.

111317