FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES LAFAYETTE ROOM JUNE 13, 2017

5:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Nat Robertson

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Kirk deViere (District 2); Mitchell Colvin, Jr. (District 3); Chalmers McDougald (District 4); Robert T. Hurst, Jr. (District 5) (arrived at 5:09 p.m.); William J. L. Crisp (District 6); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7); Theodore Mohn (District 8); James W. Arp (District 9)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager

Kristoff Bauer, Deputy City Manager Jay Reinstein, Assistant City Manager Michael Petti, Assistant Police Chief

Randy Hume, Transit Director

Rob Stone, Engineering and Infrastructure Director

Cheryl Spivey, Chief Financial Officer

Tracey Broyles, Budget and Evaluation Director Kevin Arata, Corporate Communications Director Rob Stone, Engineering and Infrastructure Director Michael Gibson, Parks, Recreation and Maintenance

Director

Elizabeth Somerindyke, Internal Audit Director Victor Sharpe, Community Development Director

Jeff Bradford, Assistant City Attorney Mark Brown, PWC Customer Relations Officer

Pamela Megill, City Clerk

Members of the Press

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Robertson called the meeting to order.

2.0 INVOCATION

The invocation was offered by Council Member Wright.

3.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOTION: Council Member Mohn moved to approve the agenda.

SECOND: Council Member Wright

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

4.0 OTHER ITEMS OF BUSINESS

4.1 Fiscal Year 2017-2018 Budget Ordinance and Fee Schedule, the Fiscal Year 2017-2018 Strategic Plan, the Fiscal Years 2018-2022 Capital and Technology Improvement Plans, Capital Project Ordinances 2018-1 through 2018-12, and Capital Project Ordinance Amendments 2018-1 through 2018-12

Mayor Robertson provided opening remarks and invited each Council member to make an opening statement or remark. Opening remarks were made.

Mr. Douglas Hewett, City Manager, stated the proposed budget before Council this evening has a revenue neutral tax rate. Mr. Hewett thanked Mayor Robertson and Council members for their support of staff during this budget process.

Discussion of the proposed Fiscal Year 2017-2018 budget ensued. Council discussed ad valorem tax rates, solid waste fees, stormwater fees, debt service ratio, and transit fees.

Mayor Robertson recessed the meeting at 7:03 p.m. Mayor Robertson reconvened the meeting at 7:17 p.m.

Discussion continued.

Consensus of Council was to direct staff to bring back two or three alternatives that include raising more fees to offset any tax rate increase and cutting at least \$2 million from one-time capital

Council Member Arp moved to call for special meetings to address the proposed Fiscal Year 2017-2018 Budget for June 19, June 20, and June 21, 2017. MOTION:

Council Member Hurst SECOND:

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

5.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:51 p.m.