## FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL DISCUSSION OF AGENDA ITEMS MEETING MINUTES ST. AVOLD ROOM MARCH 29, 2016 6:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Nat Robertson

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Kirk deViere (District 2); H. Mitchell Colvin, Jr. (District 3); Chalmers L. McDougald (District 4); Robert T. Hurst, Jr. (District 5); William J. L. Crisp (District 6); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7); Theodore W. Mohn (District 8); James W. Arp, Jr. (District 9) (arrived at 6:30 p.m.)

Others Present: Theodore Voorhees, City Manager Karen McDonald, City Attorney Rochelle Small-Toney, Deputy City Manager Kristoff Bauer, Deputy City Manager Jay Reinstein, Assistant City Manager Members of the Press

Mayor Robertson called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

MOTION: Mayor Pro Tem Colvin moved to go into closed session for discussion of litigation in the matter of Public Works Commission, et al. v. City of Fayetteville, et al. SECOND: Council Member Mohn VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

The regular session recessed at 6:00 p.m. The regular session reconvened at 6:30 p.m.

## MOTION: Mayor Pro Tem Colvin moved to go into open session. SECOND: Council Member Hurst VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

Mayor Robertson reviewed the agenda items.

Council Member DeViere expressed an interest in pulling Item 6.11 and moving to Other Items of Business and Item 6.12 for a separate vote. Ms. Karen McDonald, City Attorney, also advised paragraph 5 needed to be revised as follows: "Mayor and four Council members" and "will be elected to four-year staggered terms".

Mayor Pro Tem Colvin asked about the budget guidelines under Item 6.03.

Council Member Wright expressed an interest in moving Item 6.10 by creating Item 9.01(a).

Consensus of Council was to refer Item 9.02 to a work session.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:55 p.m.