FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES CAPE FEAR BOTANICAL GARDENS 536 N. EASTERN BOULEVARD DECEMBER 5, 2011

7:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Anthony G. Chavonne

Council Members Keith A. Bates, Sr. (District 1); Kady-Ann Davy (District 2); Robert A. Massey, Jr. (District 3); Darrell J. Haire (District 4); Robert T. Hurst (District 5); William J. L. Crisp (District 6); Valencia A. Applewhite (District 7); Wade Fowler (District 8); Jim Arp (District 9)

Others Present:

Dale E. Iman, City Manager Doug Hewett, Assistant City Manager Kristoff Bauer, Assistant City Manager Karen M. McDonald, City Attorney Jennifer Lowe, Public Information Officer Nathan Walls, Public Information Specialist Rebecca Rogers-Carter, Management Services Manager Pamela Megill, City Clerk Members of the Press

1.0 Welcome

Ms. Pamela Megill, City Clerk, welcomed those in attendance.

2.0 Posting of the Colors

Major Bruce Daws and members of the Fayetteville Independent Light Infantry performed the posting of the colors followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag.

3.0 Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was recited by those in attendance.

4.0 National Anthem

5.0 Invocation

The invocation was offered by Dr. James A. Brice, Jr., Senior Pastor, Covenant Love Church. Mrs. Patricia B. Politowicz sang the National Anthem.

6.0 Administration of Oaths of Office

Mr. Anthony G. Chavonne was sworn in by Ms. Pamela J. Megill, City Clerk.

Mr. Keith A. Bates, Sr., District 1, was sworn in by The Honorable John M. Tyson, Judge, North Carolina Court of Appeals.

Ms. Kady-Ann Davy, District 2, was sworn in by Ms. Mable C. Smith, Notary Public.

Mr. Robert A. Massey, Jr., District 3, was sworn in by The Honorable Gregory A. Weeks, Senior Resident Superior Court Judge.

Mr. Darrell J. Haire, District 4, was sworn in by Ms. Brenda P. Barbour, Notary Public.

Mr. Robert Thomas Hurst, Jr., District 5, was sworn in by The Honorable James Floyd Ammons,

Jr., Resident Superior Court Judge.

Mr. William Joseph Leon Crisp, District 6, was sworn in by Ms. Brenda P. Barbour, Notary Public.

Ms. Valencia A. Applewhite, District 7, was sworn in by Ms. Denise L. Jones, Notary Public. Mr. Wade Fowler, Jr., District 8, was sworn in by The Honorable John M. Tyson, Judge, North Carolina Court of Appeals.

Mr. James William Arp, Jr., District 9, was sworn in by The Honorable John M. Tyson, Judge, North Carolina Court of Appeals.

7.0 Call to Order

Mayor Chavonne called the meeting to order and thanked all in attendance. He stated he and the City Council had a commitment to the citizens of Fayetteville, and asked that all pray for the City, military, and Council and gave thanks for all blessings.

8.0 Election of Mayor Pro Tem

Mayor Chavonne called for nominations for the Mayor Pro Tempore position.

MOTION: Council Member Hurst nominated Council Member Arp for the position of Mayor Pro Tempore.

SECOND: Council Member Massey

VOTE: PASSED by a vote of 6 in favor (Council Members Chavonne, Hurst, Massey, Bates, Fowler, and Arp) to 4 in opposition (Council Members Davy, Crisp, Haire, and Applewhite)

9.0 Adjournment

10.0 Retire the Colors

The Fayetteville Independent Light Infantry retired the colors.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:04 p.m.