## FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL DISCUSSION OF AGENDA ITEMS MEETING MINUTES ST. AVOLD CONFERENCE ROOM, CITY HALL DECEMBER 9, 2024 5:30 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Malik Davis (District 2); Mario Benavente (District 3); D. J. Haire (District 4); Lynne Greene (District 5); Derrick Thompson (District 6); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8); Deno Hondros (District 9)

Absent: Brenda McNair (District 7)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager Lachelle Pulliam, City Attorney Adam Lindsay, Assistant City Manager Kelly Olivera, Assistant City Manager Jeffery Yates, Assistant City Manager Loren Bymer, Marketing & Communications Director Kemberle Braden, Police Chief Will Deaton, Planning and Zoning Manager Dave Steinmetz, Assistant Development Services Director Pamela Megill, City Clerk

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Mayor Colvin asked the Council to review the regular agenda for the December 9, 2024, meeting.

Council Member Benavente stated he intends to pull Item 8.0A4 -Adoption of Budget Ordinance Amendment to transfer Office of Community Safety Funding to the City Manager's Office, formally establishing the Office of Community Safety.

Council Member Hondros asked for additional information on Item 8.0A5 - Adoption of Special Revenue Fund Project Ordinance to appropriate \$287,130.00 for the FY 2024 Comprehensive Opioid, Stimulant, and Substance Use Site-Based Program Grant Award. Mr. Brook Redding, Special Projects Manager, provided an overview of the item.

Discussion ensued pertaining to the Historic Resources Board.

## CLOSED SESSION

MOTION: Council Member Benavente moved to go into a closed session for attorney-client privilege matters - personnel. SECOND: Council Member Davis VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

The regular session was recessed at 5:56 p.m. The regular session reconvened at 6: p.m.

MOTION: Council Member Hondros moved to go into open session. SECOND: Council Member Davis VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:26 p.m.