# FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES LAFAYETTE ROOM JUNE 4, 2015

5:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Nat Robertson

Council Members Kathy Jensen (District 1) (arrived at 5:10 p.m.); Kady-Ann Davy (District 2) (via telephone at 5:30 p.m.); H. Mitchell Colvin, Jr. (District 3); Chalmers McDougald (District 4); Robert T. Hurst, Jr. (District 5); William J. L. Crisp (District 6); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7);

Theodore Mohn (District 8); James W. Arp, Jr. (District 9)

Others Present:

Theodore Voorhees, City Manager

Kristoff Bauer, Deputy City Manager

Rochelle Small-Toney, Deputy City Manager

Jay Reinstein, Assistant City Manager

Karen McDonald, City Attorney

Mark Brown, PWC Customer Service Director

Pamela Megill, City Clerk

Members of the Press

#### 1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Robertson called the meeting to order.

## 2.0 INVOCATION

The invocation was offered by Council Member McDougald.

## 3.0 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was by Dillon Hurst and City Council.

#### 4.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

**MOTION:** Council Member Crisp moved to approve the agenda.

**SECOND: Council Member Colvin** 

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (8-0)

## 5.0 ITEMS OF BUSINESS

## 5.01 Fayetteville Charter Amendment House Bill 392

Council Member Crisp stated Council Member Colvin and himself called this special meeting to discuss the letter Senator Meredith had requested pertaining to House Bill 392.

Council Member Colvin stated there are five areas for discussion: governance, budget, removal of members, transfer, and annexation.

Discussion ensued.

Consensus of Council was to sign the letter dated May 29, 2015, to Senator Wesley Meredith and Senator Ben Clark.

### **6.0 ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 6:42 p.m.