FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL REGULAR MEETING MINUTES COUNCIL CHAMBER, CITY HALL FEBRUARY 13, 2023 7:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Mario Benavente (District 3); D. J. Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5); Derrick Thompson (District 6); Brenda McNair (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin

(District 8); Deno Hondros (District 9)

Absent: Council Member Shakeyla Ingram (District 2)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager

Karen McDonald, City Attorney

Adam Lindsay, Assistant City Manager Kelly Olivera, Assistant City Manager Jeff Yates, Assistant City Manager Kemberle Braden, Police Chief Jodi Phelps, Chief of Staff Toney Coleman, Airport Director

Chris Cauley, Economic and Community Development

Paul Allen, Assistant City Attorney

Lachelle Pulliam, Assistant City Attorney

Loren Bymer, Marketing and Communication Director

Pamela Megill, City Clerk Members of the Press

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order.

2.0 INVOCATION

The invocation was offered by Council Member McNair

3.0 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was led by Mayor and City Council.

4.0 ANNOUNCEMENTS AND RECOGNITIONS

Council Member Haire announced the Murchison Road Special Projects Update meeting, scheduled for March 2, 2023, beginning at 5:30 p.m. in the City Council Chambers.

Council Member Banks-McLaughlin read and presented a proclamation proclaiming the month of February in the year 2023 to honor the "Triple Nickles" 555th Parachute Infantry Association.

5.0 CITY MANAGER REPORT

There was no report for this meeting.

6.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOTION: Council Member Jensen moved to approve the agenda.

SECOND: Council Member Benavente

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

7.0 CONSENT AGENDA

MOTION: Mayor Pro Tem Dawkins moved to approve the consent agenda.

SECOND: Council Member Banks-McLaughlin

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

7.01 Resolutions Directing Construction of Area 24 Section A and Section BC of the Phase 5 Annexation Utility Improvement Project be Undertaken

RESOLUTION DIRECTING CONSTRUCTION OF AREA 24 SECTION A OF THE PHASE 5 ANNEXATION UTILITY IMPROVEMENT PROJECT BE UNDERTAKEN. RESOLUTION NO. R2023-006

RESOLUTION DIRECTING CONSTRUCTION OF AREA 24 SECTION BC OF THE PHASE 5 ANNEXATION UTILITY IMPROVEMENT PROJECT BE UNDERTAKEN. RESOLUTION NO. R2023-007

7.02 State Action Plan - FY24

The State Lobbyists help define Fayetteville's priorities while facilitating communication and coordination at the state level. The City of Fayetteville retained the services of KTS Strategies LLC as its State Lobbyist. The State Advocacy Agenda is the result of input from the Mayor, City Council, and city staff. Once adopted, the document will be shared with State Representatives during office visits with our State Elected Representatives.

7.03 Bid Recommendation - Construction of Greenock Avenue

Approve the award and authorize the City Manager to execute the contract for the Greenock Avenue Construction to the recommended lowest responsive, responsible bidder, Barbour Brothers Construction Inc. in the total amount of \$198,749.00.

7.04 Bid Recommendation Pole Mount Distribution Transformers Contract Calendar Year 2023

Approve the bid recommendation to award the purchase of Pole Mount Distribution Transformers Contract Calendar 2023 to WESCO Distribution, Clayton, NC, the lowest responsive, responsible bidder in the total amount of \$382,750.00.

7.05 Bid Recommendation - Replace Power Generator at Cross Creek WRF

Approve the bid recommendation to award the contract to replace the Standby Power Generator at the Cross Creek WRF to Power Secure, Wilmington, DE, the lowest responsive, responsible bidder in the total amount of \$4,722,873.00, and authorize the CEO and General Manager of the Fayetteville Public Works Commission to execute for that purpose the contract for its construction.

7.06 Bid Recommendation -Single Phase and Three Phase Pad Mount Distribution Transformers Contract Calendar Year 2023

Approve the bid recommendation to award the purchase of Single Phase and Three Phase Pad Mount Distribution Transformers Contract Calendar Year 2023 to JST Power Equipment, Lake Mary, FL, the lowest responsive, responsible bidder in the total amount of \$1,302,200.00 and \$1,731,710.00 respectively.

8.0 PUBLIC FORUM

Mr. Rick Iwanski, 2308 Colgate Drive, Fayetteville, NC, expressed concerns regarding mental health and police accountability.

Ms. Thretha Chance, 2413 Moody Street, Fayetteville, NC, expressed concerns regarding the need for City services and street lights on her street.

Mr. Bryan Mello, 4306 Bragg Boulevard, Fayetteville, NC, expressed concerns regarding his housing concerns.

Ms. Angela Tatum Malloy, 404 Pilot Avenue, Fayetteville, NC, expressed concerns regarding mental health, and independent police oversight.

Mr. Jose Cardona, 233 Addison Street, spoke regarding his concerns with crime.

Mr. Shaun McMillian, 6024 Goldenrain Drive, Fayetteville, NC, expressed concerns regarding the need for an office of community safety.

Mr. Christian Mosley, 5315 Chesapeake Road, Fayetteville, NC, expressed concerns regarding new annexations.

9.0 ITEMS OF BUSINESS

9.01 Appointment of a Public Works Commissioner

MOTION: Council Member Benavente moved to appoint Mr. Josef

Hallastschek to the Public Works Commission.

SECOND: Council Member Jensen

VOTE: FAILED by a vote of 4 in favor to 5 in opposition (Council

Members Colvin, Haire, Dawkins, Thompson, and Banks-

McLaughlin)

MOTION: Council Member Banks-McLaughlin moved to appoint

Mr. Theodore Mohn to the Public Works Commission.

SECOND: Council Member Jensen

VOTE: FAILED by a vote of 3 in favor to 6 in opposition (Council

Members Colvin, Benavente, Haire, Dawkins, Thompson, and

Banks-McLaughlin)

MOTION: Council Member Benavente moved to appoint Mr. Josef

Hallastschek to the Public Works Commission.

SECOND: Council Member Jensen

VOTE: FAILED by a vote of 4 in favor to 5 in opposition (Council

Members Colvin, Haire, Dawkins, Thompson, and Banks-

McLaughlin)

MOTION: Council Member Haire moved to appoint Mr. Christopher Davis

to the Public Works Commission.

SECOND: Council Member Thompson

VOTE: FAILED by a vote of 4 in favor to 5 in opposition (Council

Members Jensen, Benavente, McNair, Banks-McLaughlin and

Hondros)

10.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at $7:53~\mathrm{p.m.}$