FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL REGULAR MEETING MINUTES FAST CONFERENCE ROOM MARCH 21, 2022 7:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Shakeyla Ingram (District 2) (via zoom); Antonio Jones (District 3); D. J. Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5) (via zoom); Chris Davis (District 6); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8) (via zoom); Yvonne Kinston

(District 9)

Council Member Katherine K. Jensen (District 1)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager Karen McDonald, City Attorney

Telly Whitfield, Assistant City Manager Adam Lindsay, Assistant City Manager Jay Toland, Assistant City Manager Rebecca Jackson, Chief of Staff

Gina Hawkins, Police Chief

Jodi Phelps, Corporate Communications Director

Pamela Megill, City Clerk Members of the Press

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order.

2.0 INVOCATION

The invocation was offered by Council Member Jones.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was led by Mayor and City Council.

ANNOUNCEMENTS AND RECOGNITIONS

Mr. Scott Bullard, Emergency Management Coordinator, provided a COVID-19 update, and stated we are 736 days under the State of Emergency.

Council Member Haire recognized the recent passing of Imam Muhammed Eronomy Smith.

Mayor Colvin and Council Members Jones and Wright recognized Mr. Carland Jones in recognition of his achievement in winning a state title in the High Jump at the 2022 NC High School Athletic Association 3A Indoor Track and Field Championships.

Mayor Colvin and Council Members Jones and Wright recognized Ms. Charity Stroud in recognition of her achievement in winning a silver medal in the High Jump at the 2022 NC High School Athletic Association 3A Indoor Track and Field Championships.

Mayor Colvin and Council Members Jones and Wright recognized Ms. Holley Johnson in recognition of her achievement in winning a silver medal in the Long Jump at the 2022 NC High School Athletic Association 3A Indoor Track and Field Championships

CITY MANAGER REPORT

Mr. Douglas Hewett, City Manager, stated he does not have a report for this meeting.

6.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Council Member Wright moved to approve the agenda. MOTION:

SECOND: Council Member Dawkins

UNANIMOUS (9-0) VOTE:

7.0 CONSENT AGENDA

MOTION: Council Member Wright moved to approve the consent agenda.

SECOND: Council Member Kinston

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

7.01 Approval of Meeting Minutes:

February 14, 2022 - Regular

February 23, 2022 - Agenda Briefing

February 28, 2022 - Special

February 28, 2022 - Discussion of Agenda Items February 28, 2022 - Regular March 7, 2022 - Work Session

7.02 Assessment Appeal for 1910 Partridge Drive (PIN 9496-67-8292)

City Council accepted the appeal and released the assessment at 1910 Partridge Drive (PIN 9496-67-8292).

7.03 Ordinance Amendment of Various Subsections of Article III, Hazardous Material and Substance Abatement under Chapter 11, Fire Protection and Prevention

AN ORDINANCE OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FAYETTEVILLE AMENDING VARIOUS SUBSECTIONS OF ARTICLE III, HAZARDOUS MATERIAL AND SUBSTANCE ABATEMENT, UNDER CHAPTER 11, FIRE PROTECTION AND PREVENTION, OF THE CODE OF ORDINANCES OF THE CITY OF FAYETTEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA. ORDINANCE NO. S2022-002

7.04 Bid Recommendation - Three (3) Vacuum Circuit Breakers with Optimizer Monitoring to Meiden American Switchgear, Inc., Gray Court, SC, in the total amount of \$265,204.00

Meiden America Switchgear, Inc., Gray Court, SC \$265,204.00

8.0 PUBLIC FORUM

Carolyn Hamilton, 363 Tucson Drive, Fayetteville, NC, expressed concerns regarding ethics.

Ms. Akia Smith, 6403 Wendy Terrace, Fayetteville, NC, stated she would like to suggest the renaming of Murchison Road.

Mr. Shaun McMillian, 6024 Goldenrain Drive, Fayetteville, NC, expressed concerns regarding the death of Mr. Jason Walker establishing an Independent Oversight Committee of the Fayetteville Police Department.

Mr. Freddie delaCruz, 240 Summertime Road, Fayetteville, expressed concerns regarding the Market House, public forum, policing.

OTHER ITEMS OF BUSINESS

9.01 Presentation of Appointments Committee Recommendations for Boards and Commissions Appointments

Council Member Dawkins presented this item and stated the Appointment Committee met on February 16, 2022, to review applications for appointments to boards and commissions. It is from that meeting the Appointment Committee presents the recommendation for appointments to the City of Fayetteville boards and commissions. Staff received 69applications for 32 vacant positions.

Appointment Committee recommendations for term of office to begin April 1, 2022:

Airport Commission			
John "Jay " Wyatt	Anril 1	2022 - March 31	2024
Robert Hambly		2022 - March 31	
Nobel C Hambly	APIII I,	ZUZZ MAICH JI	, 2024
Audit Committee			
Warren O'Brien	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024
Mfon Apkan	_	2022 - March 31	
1.51. 1.51.			
Board of Appeals - Partial Term until September 30, 2022			
Edward Samuelian		2022 - Septembe	
Fayetteville-Cumberland Economic Development Board - Partial Term			
until November 20, 2022			
Tammy Thurman	April 1,	2022 - November	30, 2022
Ethics Commission	7 1 1	0000 M1- 21	2025
Robert Hambly	_	2022 - March 31	
Stephanie Huston	April I,	2022 - March 31	, 2025
FACT			
Jascline Batiste	Anril 1	2022 - March 31	2024
Austin Campbell	-	2022 - March 31	•
Michelle Clark		2022 - March 31	
	_	2022 - March 31 2022 - March 31	
Shaquelia Stroud	APIII I,	ZUZZ - March 31	, 2024
Fair Housing Board			
Debra Kinzer	April 1.	2022 - March 31	. 2024
Karroll McDonald	_	2022 - March 31	
narrorr moboliara	110111 1,	ZUZZ HATCH DI	, 2021
Historic Resources Commission			
Michael Pennink	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024
Lynda Deaton	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024
Robert Tiffany	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024
Human Relations Commission			
Shirley Francis	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024
Dakota Wright	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024
Joint City & County Appearance Commission - Advertise 2 vacancies			
<u>Linear Park Board</u> - Advertise 1 Crystal Bennett		_	2025
Crystal Bennett	APILI I,	2022 - March 31	, 2025
Fayetteville Redevelopment Comr	nission		
Derek Scott		2022 - March 31	. 2027
202011 20000	115 1,	2022 11012011 01	, ===
Joint City & County Senior Citizens Advisory Commission			
Wanda Johnson		2022 - March 31	
Roger Rose		2022 - March 31	
Vann Sherrod		2022 - March 31	
	•		
Stormwater Advisory Board			
Edward Parks	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024
Board of Advisors for the Woodpeckers			
Austin Campbell	_	2022 - March 31	
Jeremy Fiebig	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024
William Hedgepeth	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024
Sabrina Steigleman	April 1,	2022 - March 31	, 2024

Council Member Dawkins moved to appoint the 29 recommended appointments to the 15 boards and commissions as stated. MOTION:

SECOND: Council Member Kinston

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

10.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at $7:42~\mathrm{p.m.}$