FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

FAST CONFERENCE ROOM, 505 WINSLOW STREET, FAYETTEVILLE, NC DECEMBER 14, 2021

5:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Shakeyla Ingram (District 2); Antonio Jones (District 3); D. J. Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5) (via zoom); Chris Davis (District 6); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8); Yvonne Kinston (District 9)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager

Lisa Harper, Assistant City Attorney Jay Toland, Assistant City Manager

Jodi Phelps, Corporate Communications Director

Pamela Megill, City Clerk Members of the Press

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m.

2.0 INVOCATION

The invocation was offered by Council Member Wright.

3.0 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mayor Colvin.

4.0 APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

MOTION: Council Member Davis moved to approve the agenda, with the

addition of Item 5.2, Official Censure of Council Member

Ingram.

SECOND: Council Member Dawkins

VOTE: PASSED by a vote of 9 in favor to 1 in opposition (Council

Member Ingram)

5.0 ITEMS OF BUSINESS

5.1 Community Police Advisory Board Appointments

Council Member Davis presented this item and stated the Community Police Advisory Board is to be made up of nine members, with staggered terms to help maintain continuity and intellectual knowledge. The City Clerk's office received 23 valid applications for this Board, and Council members were asked to provide a list of their top 10 candidates for this Board. A spreadsheet of the results and tally have been provided to Council.

Council Member Kinston asked if Council would be interviewing the candidates. Discussion ensued, and it was decided to appoint candidates and forgo the interview process.

Council Member Davis stated the top three candidates with the most number of votes should be placed in the three-year term slots. The remaining seven top candidates with the most votes should be selected from a random draw.

MOTION: Mayor Pro Tem Jensen moved to appoint the top three candidates with the most votes to the three-year term slots, and the remaining seven candidates with the most

votes to be selected by a drawing of names.

SECOND: Council Member Banks-McLaughlin

PASSED by a vote of 9 in favor to 1 in opposition (Council Member Ingram)

The following top three candidates receiving the most votes were selected for the three-year term slots:

- Lionel Cartwright 3 years December 15, 2021-March 31, 2025
- Jim Bove 3 years December 15, 2021-March 31, 2025
- Julie Aul 3 years December 15, 2021-March 31, 2025

The seven remaining candidates with the most votes were selected by name drawing by the City Clerk. The results are as follows:

- Jacqueline Clay 2 years December 15, 2021-March 31, 2024
- 2.
- 3.
- Pablo Arroyo 2 years December 15, 2021-March 31, 2024 Sidney King 2 years December 15, 2021-March 31, 2024 Debra Slaughter 1 year December 15, 2021-March 31, 2023 Tony Haire 1 year December 15, 2021-March 31, 2023 4.
- 5.
- Gregory Perkins 1 year December 15, 2021-March 31, 2023 6.
- Juana Magnum Alternate

Council Member Davis moved to appoint the following MOTION: candidates to the Community Police Advisory Board: Lionel Cartwright - 3 years, Jim Bove - 3 years, Julie Aul - 3 years, Jacqueline Clay - 2 years, Pablo Arroyo - 2 years, Sidney King - 2 years, Debra Slaughter - 1 year, Tony Haire - 1 year, Gregory Perkins - 1 year, Juana Magnum -Alternate.

SECOND: Council Member Ingram

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

5.2 Resolution of Official Censure - Council Member Ingram

Council Member Davis presented this item and read the following from the resolution:

To Council Member Shakeyla Ingram. Whereas, the following members of the Fayetteville, NC City Council officially condemn your actions and words directed towards the City Council at the conclusion of the December 6, 2021, City Council Work Session. Your outburst was in direct conflict with City Council Policy 115.15 (Mayor and Council Protocol and Code of Conduct, page 5 item #6). We have individually and now collectively determined your conduct during this specific meeting was unprofessional and impermissible and not in the best interest of the City of Fayetteville.

Ms. Lisa Harper, Assistant City Attorney, stated Council Member Jones will be recused from voting, as he was not a member of the City Council when the incident took place.

MOTION: Council Member Davis moved to recuse Council Member Jones

from voting on this item.

SECOND: Council Member Dawkins

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

> RESOLUTION OF THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FAYETTEVILLE IN SUPPORT OF OFFICIAL CENSURE - COUNCIL MEMBER INGRAM. RESOLUTION NO. R2021-077

Council Member Davis moved to adopt the Resolution of the City Council of the City of Fayetteville in Support of Official Censure of Council Member Shakeyla Ingram. MOTION:

SECOND: Council Member Dawkins

UNANIMOUS (8-0) VOTE:

6.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 5:48 p.m.