## FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES FAST CONFERENCE ROOM, 505 WINSLOW STREET DECEMBER 6, 2021 5:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1) (via Zoom); Shakeyla Ingram (District 2) (via zoom); D. J. Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5); Chris Davis (District 6); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8); Yvonne Kinston (District 9)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager Karen McDonald, City Attorney Telly Whitfield, Assistant City Manager Jay Toland, Assistant City Manager Adam Lindsay, Assistant City Manager Jennifer Ayre, Deputy City Clerk Members of the Press

## 1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

## 2.0 INVOCATION

The invocation was offered by Council Member Wright.

## 3.0 PLEDGE OF ALLEIGANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was led by Mayor and City Council.

#### 4.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOTION: Council Member Wright moved to approve the agenda. SECOND: Council Member Banks-McLaughlin VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

## 5.0 OTHER ITEMS OF BUSINESS

#### 5.01 Appointment of a Candidate to City Council, District 3

Mayor Colvin stated there have been a number of candidates that applied by the deadline and tonight Council will hear from each candidate. Each candidate will be allotted a maximum of three minutes to speak. Each Council member will then be allowed to ask each candidate one question.

Council Member Ingram asked if there will be an opportunity for public input. Mayor Colvin stated, because the decision will be made at the next Council meeting, allowing for a public forum at the end would be welcome.

# MOTION: Council Member Ingram moved to clearly identify the appointment process when voting for a candidate.

Motion died for lack of a second.

Mr. Douglas Hewett, City Manager, stated there are a number of ways to vote on the candidate. In the past, Council has started by taking nominations from the floor, then began the process of elimination. Ms. Karen McDonald, City Attorney, stated during the process to replace former Council Member Williams, each name was voted on in order until a candidate received a majority vote.

Discussion ensued.

Mr. Hewett stated staff will notice a public hearing to allow residents to speak on matters related to the City Council appointment of a candidate to the vacant position of Council Member District 3 for the December 13, 2021, Council meeting.

Mayor and Council provided each candidate three minutes to speak and asked them one question each. The following candidates addressed the City Council: Antonio Jones, Cynthia Swinson Leeks, Guillermo Ayerbe, Jesse Brunson, John Zimmerman, Kathi Gibson, Kurin Keys, Mario Benavente, Meleisa Lane, Mike Dobs, and Raymond Makar.

MOTION: Council Member Haire moved to hold the selection on December 13, 2021, and administer the oath of office on December 14, 2021, of the District 3 candidate. SECOND: Council Member Wright VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

MOTION: Council Member Haire moved to go into closed session for attorney-client privileged and confidential matters, for a matter of Personnel. SECOND: Council Member Banks-McLaughlin VOTE: UNANIMOUS (9-0)

The regular session recessed at 7:35 p.m. The regular session reconvened at 7:51 p.m.

MOTION: Council Member Dawkins moved to go into open session. SECOND: Council Member Davis VOTE: UNANIMOUS (7-0)

## 6.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:52 p.m.