## FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES FAST CONFERENCE ROOM, 505 WINSLOW STREET, FAYETTEVILLE, NC OCTOBER 13, 2021 5:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin (departed at 6:40 p.m.)

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Shakeyla Ingram (District 2) (via zoom); Tisha S. Waddell (District 3) (via zoom); D. J. Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5); Chris Davis (District 6) (arrived at 5:16 p.m.); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8); Yvonne Kinston (District 9) (via zoom)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager Karen McDonald, City Attorney Telly Whitfield, Assistant City Manager Pamela Megill, City Clerk Caroline Mackie, Poyner Spruill, LLP Blake Esselstyn, Mapfigure Consulting Members of the Press

### 1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order at 5:04 p.m.

## 2.0 INVOCATION

The invocation was offered by Council Member Wright.

#### 3.0 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

#### 4.0 APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

MOTION:Council Member Dawkins moved to approve the agenda.SECOND:Council Member WrightVOTE:PASSED by a vote of 8 in favor to 1 in opposition (Council<br/>Member Ingram)

### 5.0 ITEMS OF BUSINESS

## 5.1 Overview of the Process

Ms. Caroline Mackie stated the Council had been provided with three (3) map options; A, B, and C. The goal for this meeting is to reach a consensus of one map option. The City Council did hold a public hearing on this item on October 11, 2021, however, no one showed up to speak, and no one sent in any written comments from the public.

Mr. Blake Esselstyn presented a PowerPoint presentation and provided an overview of the three map options, and stated Council now has an opportunity to view the maps for their respective districts and make comments.

# 5.2 Review and Discussion of District Alternatives

Mayor Colvin asked all Council Members present to view the District map options that have been taped to the walls, and present comments.

#### Discussion ensued.

Mayor Colvin asked each Council member for their option selection. The following are the options selected by each Council member:

```
District 1 - Mayor Pro Tem Jensen - C
District 2 - Council Member Ingram - A
District 3 - Council Member Waddell - A
District 4 - Council Member Haire - B
District 5 - Council Member Dawkins - A
District 6 - Council Member Davis - A
District 7 - Council Member Wright - A
District 8 - Council Member Banks-McLaughlin - A
District 9 - Council Member Kinston A
```

# Consensus of City Council was to select redistricting map Option $\ensuremath{``A''}.$

Mayor Colvin asked Council to develop a "wish list" of any changes/modifications they would like to see with map option A. Mayor Colvin asked for all modification requests to be submitted to the City Clerk, no later than noon on October 15, 2021.

Consensus of Council was to agree to submit all modifications to map Option A to the City Clerk, no later than noon on October 15, 2021. Council Members Ingram, Waddell, and Kinston were opposed to the consensus vote.

# 5.3 Next Steps

Ms. Caroline Mackie, Redistricting Consultant, stated herself and Mr. Esselstyn will review the forthcoming modification requests from Council and will determine if any or all are feasible.

The next meeting will be held on October 25, 2021, the start time for the meeting is to be determined.

### 6.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:03 p.m.