FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES COUNCIL CHAMBER AND ZOOM MEETING MAY 6, 2020 5:00 P.M.

Present: Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Shakeyla Ingram (District 2); Tisha S. Waddell (District 3); D. J. Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5); Chris Davis (District 6); Larry O. Wright, Sr. (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8); Yvonne Kinston (District 9)

Others Present: Douglas Hewett, City Manager Karen McDonald, City Attorney Kristoff Bauer, Deputy City Manager Telly Whitfield, Assistant City Manager Angel Wright-Lanier, Assistant City Manager Scott Bullard, Emergency Management Coordinator Pamela Megill, City Clerk Jennifer Ayre, Deputy City Clerk Members of the Press

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order.

2.0 INVOCATION

The invocation was offered by Council Member Dawkins.

3.0 PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mayor Colvin and City Council.

4.0 APPROVAL OF AGENDA

MOTION: Council Member Wright moved to approve the agenda. SECOND: Council Member Haire VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

5.0 OTHER ITEMS OF BUSINESS

5.01 COVID-19 Update - Mr. Scott Bullard, Emergency Management Coordinator

Mr. Scott Bullard, Emergency Management Coordinator, presented this item and stated we are now 52 days into the State of Emergency Declaration. So far there has been 2,758 confirmed cases of COVID-19 in the State of North Carolina. Mr. Bullard announced the City-issued curfew will cease on May 8, 2020.

Discussion ensued.

5.02 Closed Session

MOTION: Council Member Dawkins moved to go into closed session for an attorney-client privileged matter. SECOND: Council Member Wright VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

The regular session recessed at 5:48 p.m. The regular session reconvened at 8:32 p.m.

MOTION: Council Member Dawkins moved to go into open session. SECOND: Council Member Wright

VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

MOTION: Council Member Haire moved to go into closed session for a personnel matter.

SECOND: Council Member Wright

VOTE: PASSED by a vote of 8 in favor to 2 in opposition (Council Members Ingram and Waddell)

The regular session recessed at 8:33 p.m. The regular session reconvened at 10:36 p.m.

5.03 Council COVID-19 Response and Recovery Committee Reports

Mayor Colvin stated Council was divided into the following three committees:

Business Recovery and Economic Development: Mayor Pro Tem Jensen, Chair, and Council Members Davis and Dawkins

Homeless and Poverty Recovery Committee: Council Member Wright, Chair, and Council Members Kinston and Banks-McLaughlin

Neighborhood Revitalization and Improvement Committee: Council Member Haire, Chair, and Council Members Waddell and Ingram

MOTION: Council Member Haire moved to receive the report. SECOND: Council Member Waddell VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

6.0 ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 10:38 p.m.