DRAFT

FAYETTEVILLE CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES J.W. SEABROOK AUDITORIUM FAYETTEVILLE STATE UNIVERSITY 1200 MURCHISON ROAD DECEMBER 2, 2019 6:00 P.M.

Mayor Mitch Colvin

Council Members Katherine K. Jensen (District 1); Shakeyla Ingram (District 2); Tisha S. Waddell (District 3); D. J.
Haire (District 4); Johnny Dawkins (District 5); Chris
Davis (District 6); Larry Wright, Sr. (District 7); Courtney Banks-McLaughlin (District 8); Yvonne Kinston (District 9)

Others Present:

Douglas Hewett, City Manager Karen McDonald, City Attorney Kristoff Bauer, Deputy City Manager

Angel Wright-Lanier, Assistant City Manager Telly Whitfield, Assistant City Manager

Gina Hawkins, Police Chief

Dwayne Campbell, Chief Information Officer Gerald Newton, Development Services Director

Michael Gibson, Fayetteville-Cumberland Parks and

Recreation Director

Tracey Broyles, Budget and Evaluation Director Elizabeth Somerindyke, Internal Audit Director Barbara Hill, Human Resources Development Director

Pamela Megill, City Clerk

Jennifer Ayre, Senior Administrative Assistant

Members of the Press

Welcome

Mr. John Malzone, Master of Ceremonies, welcomed those in attendance.

2.0 Posting of the Colors

Police and Fire Departments Honor Guard Team performed the Posting of the Colors followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag.

Pledge of Allegiance

The Pledge of Allegiance to the American Flag was recited by those in attendance.

4.0 National Anthem

Ms. Victoria Huggins sang the National Anthem.

Invocation

The invocation was offered by Mr. Chris Davis, Council Member-Elect.

6.0 Administration of Oaths of Office

Mr. Mitch Colvin was sworn in by The Honorable Stephen Benjamin, Mayor, Columbia, South Carolina.

Ms. Kathy Jensen, District 1, was sworn in by The Honorable Claire Hill, Superior Court Judge.

Ms. Shakeyla Ingram, District 2, was sworn in by The Honorable Stephen Stokes, District Court Judge.

Ms. Tisha S. Waddell, District 3, was sworn in by Ms. Adriane Patton, North Carolina Notary Public.

Mr. D. J. Haire, District 4, was sworn in by Mrs. Sandra Jones Morrisey, North Carolina Notary Public.

Mr. Johnny Dawkins, District 5, was sworn in by The Honorable Stephen Stokes, District Court Judge.

Mr. Chris Davis, District 6, was sworn in by The Honorable Stephen Stokes, District Court Judge.

Mr. Larry Wright, Sr., District 7, was sworn in by The Honorable Stephen Stokes, District Court Judge.

Ms. Courtney Banks-McLaughlin, District 8, was sworn in by Mayor Mitch Colvin.

Ms. Yvonne Kinston, District 9, was sworn in by The Honorable Cheri-Siler-Mack, District Court Judge.

7.0 Call to Order

Mayor Colvin called the meeting to order and thanked all present for their attendance.

8.0 Election of Mayor Pro Tem

 $\ensuremath{\mathsf{Mayor}}$ Colvin called for nominations for the position of Mayor Pro Tempore.

MOTION: Council Member Waddell moved to nominate Council Member

Jensen for the position of Mayor Pro Tempore.

SECOND: Council Member Haire VOTE: UNANIMOUS (10-0)

9.0 Opening Address

Mayor Colvin provided the opening address.

10.0 Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at $7:34~\mathrm{p.m.}$

11.0 Retire the Colors

The Fayetteville Police and Fire Departments Honor Guard Team retired the colors.